11/05/2010

reflecting on the past, future + making things happen

Posted in business, MTH2010 tagged , , , , , , at 12:08 am by meant to be sent

wow! the post below was written back in APRIL and it has now been almost a YEAR since my making things happen experience! for some reason, i was not ready to post this back in april, but as the making things happen tour kicks off again, and i am FINALLY about to embark on my own rebranding (+ a million other things!) and have had so many great things happen since that day in january, it seems appropriate to go ahead and hit that “publish” button now…and…i am going to leave it just as i left off with it. so take a trip back in time to april and read on :)

•    •   •   •   •

taking a look back, 2009 was a crazy year for me, as it was for most. because of that i approached the new year with a great deal of excitement and hope for the year ahead and wanted nothing more than to make sure 2010 was filled with good things and less stress than the year before. i was on a mission for sure. then i found out about making things happen and lara casey. i didn’t quite know why, but i knew i had to go…and after finding out the intensive tour stopped in chicago, it just felt right and i knew i needed to be there. and so i went.

it’s been just over two months since i hopped that plane to chicago. i went there bursting with excitement and uncertainty and left with that same excitement, but multiplied by like a million!  the word “intensive” is exactly what it was. it was an opportunity to take an intense hard look at yourself and your business while other attendees did the same. and as if that isn’t hard enough, then you share. you share your thoughts, hopes dreams and all of the little details that make you, you. THAT is intense. the stories and experiences that were shared throughout the day were touching and inspiring. i was lucky enough to part of a more intimate group which made for an even more intense and deeper look at each person. and then there was the one-on-one with lara and jeff. i was amazed at how they were able to listen, digest and give spot on advice just for me after a full day of being fed so much information from all of us. but what an opportunity…it forced me to look at the good and the bad and the scary and how to take all of those things and use them to make things happen for myself. and so i am :) going into 2010 i had plans. big plans. but going to MTH2010 inspired me beyond what i thought was possible and both affirmed and strengthened my ideas and excitement for the year ahead. i left the intensive with some amazing advice, a more intense passion and excitement, some fabulous new friends and more ideas than my head has room for!

one of the most interesting and important pieces i took away was how important it is to be authentic—to be true to who i am and focusing on that I AM my brand. so you will be seeing a lot more of me { even an actual picture! } and my story and my brand evolve before your very eyes :) of course there will be invitations and paper galore but with that will come some fun lifestyle posts and lots of talk about all things design.

the past two months have been a whirlwind, a flurry of thoughts and ideas and i am so excited about what is next for me and my business and can’t wait to see what i can make happen next. thanks lara!

so. needless to say, i am excited for this year and what is ahead and i am hoping to announce some BIG things soon!


•    •   •   •   •

so, what has happened since that post? adding my picture to twitter…check. authenticity…for sure. making all sorts of amazing connections and learning the power of twitter…yep! amazingly, just those small things have led to some much bigger things. i reached a big goal by being featured on some of my favorite wedding blogs (style me pretty, EAD and papercrave!) and now i am developing my brand new stationery collection with big plans to debut at the national stationery show in may 2011. all. by. myself. (eeeek!) which means i am also introducing a wholesale part of my business and about to get started on rebranding / refreshing my look and site (with some super cool features!)…and i am now offering branding + design services to other wedding pros and small businesses, which i am super excited about!! and though there is still not one ounce of space left in my head for them, there are so many more ideas and plans in there and in the works…and you can be sure that i am doing everything possible to make each super fun new idea happen….like. now. :)

much more to come…stay tuned!

2 Comments »

  1. I am so looking forward to MTH2010 and being able to share in an experience that few before me have been able to experience.

    I am excited for you and what the future has in store, including your debut at NSS!

    • meant to be sent said,

      thanks so much brit! you will love it. what city are you going to?


Leave a Reply

